Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

…when we could all use a helping hand.

I’m not sure if it was the rainy weather, the let-down from a great weekend camping, the transition from spring activities or the dreary beginning of summer but I was feeling in a bit of a funk earlier this week. Then the sun came out and we spent the day outdoors. I got my ass in gear and started planning for our long weekend camping with Grandma and Grandpa in Nakusp. I confirmed plans for a model shoot in the mountains with my photography group. I also received word that my photoblog had received not one but two nominations for awards (the second was awarded just last night). Suddenly my mood was much more optimistic. 

It confirmed a few things about myself:

  1. We need to get outside everyday – the longer the better.
  2. We all need time to pursue our individual activities as well as a family.
  3. I feel unsettled when plans are in limbo – I love having free days but half formed ideas with no substance make me antsy.
  4. I love inspiring others.

I found that being nominated for the awards for my photoblog was thrilling not because of the awards themselves but because it represented my ability to inspire others. I also hope that the posts and photography on this site, “The Big Picture”, is an inspiration to families to get outside and enjoy the outdoors. To this end, I hope that if you find inspiration from the photography on this site that you’ll vote for me as a Top 25 Photographer Mom’s blog.

It’s a weekend for the outdoors – rain or shine! In addition to my photoshoot, we’re planning to attend the MEC Paddlefest and do some hiking. What are you planning on doing? Whatever you choose, I hope that you all have a great weekend! 

