Tags

, , , , ,

It’s a typical day and it may look something like…

Hubby wakes up. Goes to the bathroom, flushes the toilet, washes his hands, brushes his teeth, has a shower. Then goes downstairs and makes a cup of tea to go and fills his water bottle. I usually get up next. Go to the bathroom, flush the toilet and wash my hands. Brush my teeth, have a shower. Make a pot of coffee. M wakes up. Goes to the bathroom, flushes, washes his hands, brushes his teeth.

After breakfast, I rinse the dishes, wash the counters, load the dishwasher and put it on. I water the plants inside and head outside to water the flowers. Then we fill up our water bottles and head out on an adventure.

When we get home, I make some pasta for lunch. I put in a load of laundry. Matt heads to his room for quiet time and asks for his water. I switch the laundry and wash the breakfast and lunch dishes. After hubby gets home, I put on some rice for dinner.

Dinner eaten, M has a bath, brushes his teeth, goes to the bathroom, flushes the toilet and washes his hands. He has a last drink of water before going to bed. Hubby does the dinner dishes and wipes down the kitchen.

Hubby and I have a cup of tea before getting ready for bed. Brushing our teeth, washing our faces, going to the bathroom, flushing the toilet, washing our hands we finish the day.

If the day sounds disjointed it’s because I’ve only highlighted the activities that we use water. But what happens if there is no water, what if the toilets don’t flush, the taps don’t run water? Everyday we use water without thought. 

Until yesterday. An emergency pipe repair has cause the water to be turned off in our neighbourhood. We’re not completely without water – there are several water stations set up and I was home when they gave the 15 minute warning and was able to fill water jugs and the bathtub with water (for flushing toilets etc.). However, it made me think. We completely take for granted the fact that when we turn a tap, good, clean water comes out. Water is a natural resource that we don’t even think about until we don’t have it. It’s not an unlimited resource, fresh water is precious. Just think about it next time you leave the tap running or you neglect to fix that dripping tap. What would you do if the water didn’t come out next time you turned on a tap?

